• eTheRNA
  • Follow our progress in developing products that have the potential to transform the future of cancer treatment

eTheRNA to appoint Dr. Russell G. Greig as Chairman of the Board

Appointment of highly reputed chairman marks eTheRNA’s ambitions in the cancer immunotherapy area

Dr. Russell G. Greig - Chairman of the Board Niel (Belgium), 14 September 2016 — eTheRNA immunotherapies NV, the VUB spin-off that recently secured a EUR 24 million investment to continue the development of mRNA-based immunotherapies, has appointed Dr. Russell G. Greig as Chairman of the Board. Dr. Greig’s mandate as chairman has become effective as of September 13, 2016.

Russell Greig has more than 35 years’ experience in the pharmaceutical industry, with knowledge and expertise in research and development, business development and commercial operations. He spent the majority of his career at GlaxoSmithKline, where he held a number of positions including President of GSK Pharmaceuticals International from 2003 to 2008 and Senior Vice President Worldwide Business Development. Most recently, from 2008 to 2010, Russell Greig was also President of SR One, GSK’s Corporate Venture Group. He is currently Chairman of AM Pharma (The Netherlands), Mint Solutions (The Netherlands), and Sanifit (Spain), a Board Member of Ablynx (Belgium), Onxeo (France) and Tigenix (Belgium). He also serves as a venture partner at Kurma Life Sciences (Paris, France). Russell Greig used to be Chairman of Isconova AB in Sweden (acquired by Novavax, USA), Novagali in France (acquired by Santen, Japan), and Syntaxin in the UK (acquired by Ipsen, France).

Dirk Reyn, CEO eTheRNA: "Born in Scotland, living in the US, and for business purposes frequently over in Europe, Russell is a truly international citizen who brings a vast scientific and business experience to our board. I consider it a great honor to welcome him now also as our chairman at eTheRNA immunotherapies and his input in the development of novel immunotherapies at Etherna is going to be a tremendous added value."

Russel Greig: "I have always been interested in novel developments and breakthrough innovations. In this context, I got intrigued by eTheRNA’s mRNA-based TriMix-technology with both a solid preclinical and clinical dataset. I look forward to work with eTheRNA’s management team and its board, which is composed of highly committed scientific experts, each with a strong track record. Together we can facilitate the further development of eTheRNA’s TriMix technology and coach the executive team in their mission to translate this technology into safe and effective mRNA-based immunotherapies that can address the needs of large patient populations."

The board of directors of eTheRNA also includes the following members: Dirk Reyn (CEO), Kris Thielemans (CSO), John de Koning (representing LSP), Alexandra Tolia (representing PMV), Vincent Ossipow (representing Omega Funds), Philippe Monteyne (representing Fund+), Marcus Kosta (representing Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund) and Vincent Brichard (independent director).